On Resurrection

Joan Fullerton
joanfullerton.com

It has taken awhile
to understand my own aging
The first half of my life
dominated as it was by learning
mastering my vocation
My mind obsessed in wrapping
itself around the Truth
by which my machine humming
made profit of potential
My staff proud in its succeeding
It has taken awhile

My mind I’ve found
is little more than a bucket leaking
It cannot hold the truths
which the free`market’s preaching
Can no longer adapt to
technology’s incessant re`booting
This last part of my life
finds much peace in not`knowing
leaving my heart open
to embrace community By loving
I’ve found my heart

“At 75, I am an empty flagon. Tap me and you will hear an awful
hollow sound. My head is a tomb quite as empty as the one Jesus is
supposed to have walked away from.” ~ Gore Vidal

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Resurrection

  1. you’ve been blessed with such discovery of peace

    Like

  2. crow says:

    Really, really enjoyed this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you there – ‘put not your trust in Princes… Blessed is he whose hope is in the Lord his God’ Psalm 146. Love your poem

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very inspirational, Peter. I do find peace in not-knowing from time to time. I keep practicing…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

