On Water

Yvonne Jacquette
dcmooregallery.com

In August
even the weeds
are dying in the yard
Our Island is surrounded
by the sea yet water
to nurture earth
is still scarce

Like islands
the garden boxes
shine emerald green
in a sea of brown stubble
the thick stems bent
with the weight
of their fruit

A little water
will go a long way
when carefully metered
By such means the Negev
has become an orchard
High deserts acres
of lush alfalfa

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Water

  1. I would gladly send you some of our water Peter – our yard is soggy

    Like

    • Isn’t that the way it is: we either have too much or we don’t have enough . . . Yesterday I put up the framework for a cold`frame so that next spring we can start our seedlings earlier. Looking forward is more life`giving than looking back . . .

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I join Maureen in a pact to send you some of ours – I’m blowing westward as hard as I can

    Like

Leave a Reply

