Gracias a Dios

Fernando Garcia
cintasfoundation.org

I got lost today
A van full of preschoolers
on the way to a summer academy
I’ve been driving the route a week
but with my wife as the navigator
She was out sick today so
I got lost today

The little ones
do not speak any English
The children of migrant laborers
most toiling in the sun`burnt fields
The academy helps the children
not fall behind in school
over the summer

How does an old
man ask a five year old
how to find her house in July
at the end of a long day in class
when he does not even speak
thirty words of Spanish
You try to tell me

The oldest is eight
and her name is Melissa
By God she saw my distress
Said I was going the wrong way
in English better than mine
I got lost today but thanks
to Melissa I’m home

We’re all home
Gracias a Dios!

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gracias a Dios

  1. What a sweet child to help you. This is a lovely story poem.

    Like

  2. your stories never fail to touch my heart

    Like

Leave a Reply

