The Peace`Maker

Federico Gallo
saatchiart.com

“You have made your people
        suffer hard things;
  You have given us wine to drink
        that made us reel.
  You have set up a banner
        for those who hold you in awe
           to rally to it out of bow`shot.
     Give victory with your right hand
              and answer us,
           so that those whom you love
                 may be rescued.” ~ Psalm 60:2-5

At every border
the lines lengthen
families wanting to leave
families wanting to enter
old soldiers spent
combat widows

Children’s eyes
mirror the terror
uncertain of who’s friend
uncertain of who’s enemy
cattle at auction
they go as told

It’s been said
each child a sign
God’s not yet worldweary
God does not ever give up
on peace`making
tho we might

This poem marks the end of my reflection on the 2nd set of 30 Psalms.
For the coming month I will be taking my prompts from a series of four
more modern poets in search of the ways Life thirsts for Resurrection. Blessings!

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Peace`Maker

  1. brings to mind my parents’ stories of their childhood passings through ellis island

    Liked by 1 person

    • Our Port of Entry was Oakland although I have read many excellent stories about the immigrants who came through Ellis Island. Mark Helperin has a classic short story by that name . . .

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve read a number of books on the Italian experience – I’ll have to look up Helperin – thanks for the tip – we’ve enjoyed several tours of Ellis Island over the years – the house in which my mother’s family eventually settled was in Jersey City – from my grandmother’s kitchen windows, I had a wonderful view of the island and of Lady Liberty – ditto for my 40th floor Manhattan office windows decades later

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

