New Song

Pablo Picasso
wikiart.org

 “I waited patiently for the Lord;
       he inclined to me and heard my cry.
  He drew me up from the desolate pit,
       out of the miry bog,
          and set my feet upon a rock,
             making my steps secure.
  He put a new song in my mouth,
       a song of praise to our God.
          Many will see and be in awe,
          and put their trust in the Lord.” ~ Psalm 40:1-3

Of the seasons
I asperse the winter
when the daylight retreats
behind the curtains of night
dusk being mid`afternoon
dawn arriving after
mid`morning

I am not alone
The rooster’s clock
in January just runs amok
He will crow at midnight as
soon as he’ll crow at noon
then sit on the roof
stare at the moon

But spring`time
is in the March air
Between snow`showers
sun`bursts brighten the day
That tickle in my throat
isn’t a lingering flu
Cockadoodledoo!

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Song

  1. I struggle with the darkness of winter as well, and tend to switch lights on in the middle of a dull day…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

