Al-ḥamdu lillāh!

Karin Olah karinolah.com

Karin Olah
karinolah.com


“Blessed be the Lord,

      for he has wondrously shown his steadfast love
         to me when I was beset as a city under siege.
 I had said in my alarm,
      ‘I am driven far from your sight.’
         But you heard my supplications
         when I cried out to you for help.” ~ Psalm 31:21-22

The wind whistles
across the wasteland
as it has whistled forever
It is for us the sound of home
And with it the whistling
of rockets in the air
the thud of bullets

We’re but children
hiding in the rubble
Our doors lie in splinters
in what was our neighborhood
Our grove of olives trees
which gave us living
burnt into cinders

You talk freedom
all we know is death
When you have finished
with your war and gone home
we’ll remain with nothing
but a whistling wind
in this wasteland

Al-amdu lillāh!
Allah be Praised!

With the first of March I am returning to reflections on the Psalms after a month of being prompted by some great poets. I thank you, my readers, for being willing to look at some familiar prayers with new eyes. Blessings!

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Al-ḥamdu lillāh!

  1. Morgan says:

    a Lovely morning devotion :) Thank You!!

    Like

  2. absolutely poignant…

    Like

Leave a Reply

