The Rite of Spring

 Eileen Agar   wikiart.org

Eileen Agar
wikiart.org

We are on the cusp
of yet another Spring
I turn a spade full of soil
out in the garden See
little creatures stir

Little seedlings put
out tiny little shoots
Volunteers of lost spuds
of autumn’s harvest
A pea still in a pod

Under a straw`bed
the hundred garlics
planted late November
push up pale fingers
searching for light

Today it will hail
and tonight freeze
Tomorrow sun`shine
Four seconds more
daylight each day

The fertile future
of the earth opens
A womb welcoming
the seed of its past
The rite of Spring

“I would prefer to be able to say: ‘I am satiated,
What is given to taste in this life, I have tasted.’
But I am like someone in a window who draws aside a curtain
To look at a feast he does not comprehend.” ~ Czeslaw Milosz

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Rite of Spring

  1. a man who grows garlic has my fondest affection

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

