Perpetual Angelus

Barbara Flowers anneirwinfineart.cpm

Barbara Flowers
anneirwinfineart.cpm

Not one of us
knows how she will die
or for that matter where or when
we live as tho immortal
tho mortal be

Death is a foe
for all fearing mortality
the Reaper grim brings joy to end
leaves strong men weak
as in infancy

Yet is friend
for all wracked by pain
ultimate analgesic to the torment
which defines their day
a final peace

A good death
is a mercy to the dying
a completed narrative of the story
A tragic death is a grief
never to heal

We’ll sail off
one day in a setting sun
For some this life has been enough
others will see a sunrise
called Grace

      “Also pray for those who were in ships, and
Ended their voyage on the sand, in the sea’s lips
Or in the dark throat which will not reject them
Or wherever cannot reach them the sound of
       the sea bell’s
Perpetual angelus.” ~ T.S. Eliot

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Perpetual Angelus

  1. forgive my morbidity – but it brings me back to my father who, after being crippled and bedridden for 50 years, lay in his coffin with such a look of peaceful relief and grace that it amazed and uplifted all his mourners

    Like

    • It was the same for me: I was at papa’s bedside when he died. At 85 I watched him transform from a worn`out old man into, when my mother arrived, a handsome man of 45, the years of strain drained from his face. God grant us Good Deaths!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. …and my Mother – who couldn’t wait to ‘go home’…

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

