Sojourners

John Dyess journalofseeing.wordpress.com

  John Dyess               journalofseeing.wordpress.com

“You have turned my mourning
         into dancing;
 You have taken off my sackcloth
         and clothed me with joy
         so that my soul may praise you
             and not be silent.
    O Lord my God, I will give thanks
            to you forever.” ~ Psalm 30:11-12

When sojourners
find space to make camp
set up tents & roll out beds
they’ll unpack their home
if but for the night

Then build a fire
after gathering the wood
Put on a pot for stone`soup
each adding what he has
`til there is a feast

There tell stories
of roads that lie behind
mountains still lying ahead
The wood`smoke sweet
of maple embers

Some old woman
will then hum a melody
the whole company knows
`til with her tune we join
in soulful harmony

A note to my readers: Thanks for following along with
my verses prompted by the Psalms these past weeks.
I will be returning for the next thirty Psalms in March.
For February I will be responding to other prompts. Selah!

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sojourners

  1. Love this. It kind of talks about our on-line community where we share stories and thoughts…

    Like

Leave a Reply

