The Prayer of the Refugee

prayerforpeacebillybang

Billy Bang          pinterest.com

“To you, O Lord, I call;
    my rock, do not refuse to hear me,
      as if you are silent to me I shall be
         like those who go down to oblivion.
 Hear the sound of my prayer
    as I cry to you for help,
       as I lift up my hands
          toward your holy sanctuary.
 Do not drag me away with the wicked
    who speak peace with their neighbors
       while mischief is in their hearts.
    Repay them according to their work,
       according to the evil of their deeds;
    Repay them according to the work
       of their hands, render them
          their due reward.
    Because they do not regard
       the works of the Lord,
       or the work of his hand,
          he will break them down
          and build them up no more.
  O save your people, bless your heritage;
  Be their shepherd and carry them forever.” ~ Psalm 28:1-5,9

Grace, Mercy, and Peace!

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Prayer of the Refugee

Leave a Reply

