Ask Any Crab

Julie Bourbeau fineartamerica.com

Julie Bourbeau
fineartamerica.com

“Make me to know your ways, O Lord;
      teach me your paths.
   Lead me in your truth, and teach me,
      for you are the God of my salvation;
      for you I wait all day long.” ~ Psalm 25:4-5

Ask any crab
The way into the pot
doesn’t look like the way out
The bait looks better
than it tastes

So here I am
Caught once again
in the alley without any exit
Asking myself why
I never learn

The monkey
with his hand stuck
in a hole in the same old log
holding the banana
Can’t let it go

Any old fool
without directions
is bound to get lost every day
one foot at a time
after his nose

Youthful folly
is mainly ignorance
Yours & mine take practice
and regular exercise
Ask any crab

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ask Any Crab

  1. Quite a crabby existence that would be, would it not? When we are unable to ascertain which is better, in the pot or outside?

    While this might sound a bit ludicrous, do we realise that most of us at some time in our lives, choose a crabby existence without even knowing?

    Shakti

    Like

  2. Linda says:

    I really enjoyed this post. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Like

  3. go ahead – make fun of us old crabs

    Like

Leave a Reply

