Talking Pride

RIchard Diebenkorn pinterest.com

Richard Diebenkorn
pinterest.com

“Some take pride in chariots
      and some in horses,
   But our pride is in the name
      of the Lord our God.
   They will collapse and fall, but
      we shall rise and stand upright.” ~ Psalm 20:7-8

The rich man
may wear his wealth
he thinks with modesty
gold in the stitches
pearl buttons
While
A poor man
may wear his poverty
he thinks with nobility
in pressed dungarees
clipped nails
While
The poverty
of the wealthy man
stays hidden in his heart
A poor man’s wealth
lights his eye

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Talking Pride

  1. Generally I think of pride in a negative and you have reminded me of the true meaning of pride and what it can mean and offer those who are humble enough to understand that true meaning. Wonderful insight as always my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As one of the poverty class, by the world’s standards, I fully agree with your poem–my wealth is HIS light within, and I don’t have to dress to impress Him :)

    Like

  3. poignant juxtaposition

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

