Iron Men

Patricia Thornton axisweb.org

Patricia Thornton
axisweb.org

“I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God;
         Incline your ear to me, hear my words.
   Wondrously show your steadfast love,
   O savior of those who seek refuge
         from their adversaries at your right hand.
   Guard me as the apple of the eye;
         hide me in the shadow of your wings.” ~ Psalm 17:6-8

We are the many
the earth’s uprooted
who wander the wastelands
flounder amid waves
homeless & poor

The evil knocked
at our unlocked door
Iron men bearing Iron guns
those called brothers
become our killers

Therefore we fled
like birds from nests
shaken loose by harsh wind
to fly to run to swim
to them for refuge

And at their shore
what do we find but
this Wall without any keys
Iron men Iron guns
all Made in U.S.A.

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Iron Men

Leave a Reply

