We Are Guests

Shawn McNulty shawnmcnulty.com

Shawn McNulty    shawnmcnulty.com

“O Lord, who may abide in your tent?
Who may dwell on your holy hill?
Those who walk blamelessly and do right,
who speak the truth from the heart . . .” ~Psalm 15:1-2

If I stay
as a guest
in the home
of a gracious host
I must honor
the rules of
the house

If she says
Keep the dog
off of the bed!
Spot’s on the floor
Or chances are
I’ll get to sleep
in the shed

From birth
we are guests
in a sanctuary
universally unique
How we walk
How we talk
tells on us

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We Are Guests

  1. Peter. About a year ago I called you the classical poet of WP and truly you are. You write as well as those who are beloved from many years past, and you have that enduring classical quality in your writing that I find so enviable and beautiful at the same time. This being no exception.

    Like

    • Candice, this is such a kind and generous comment. Thank you for taking the time to think it, write it, and send it . . . One rarely knows how a poem will touch another person’s life and I am moved to know my poem has touched yours . . . Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Peter, you’ve accomplished that more times than perhaps you shall ever know. You are that river penny inexplicably bright just under the surface you remind me to try ever harder to reach your poignancy ♡

        Like

Leave a Reply

