On Hibernation

Marie Allen creativeheartwork.co.uk

Marie Allen
creativeheartwork.co.uk

Like bears
preparing for winter
we gorge on November
laying on layer after layer
of lard against the sober
months of darkness
at our door

All too soon
the snows will drift
over the cave’s opening
where retired with a book
we’ll read by candlelight
until the wax is gone
then sleep

Our friends
will come for visits
not leaving a single track
in the snow for true friends
always visit in our dreams
never mussing cups
cake plates

While we
will have drifted off
into the last lines of verse
we read when light went out
and find ourselves among
the sphynx of Egypt
until spring

“I am following Nature without being able to grasp her.
I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers.” ~ Claude Monet

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Hibernation

  1. Peter, I love this! So often I have wanted to hibernate until the spring. You have captured this perfectly.

    Like

  2. I’ve made such a habit of hibernation that I do it year round

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Long ago, I read “All the King’s Men” by Robert Penn Warren. I remember almost nothing about it, except for this: when life got to be too much for the narrator, he went on a Big Sleep, which generally lasted for days. It sounded appealing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

