A Book I Am

Ellen Vargo 1036art.blogspot.com

Ellen Vargo
1036art.blogspot.com

A book I am
filled with stories
chapter upon chapter
each with its own beginning
each with its own end
What little deaths
I’ve suffered

A child’s death
looking out upon
buildings blown apart
by the terrible bombs of war
Orphans huddled in
the rubble around
little bonfires

A man’s death
holding in hands
an infant birth`broken
without any name or witness
yet blessed to find grace
in a potter’s field
heaven’s gate

A friend’s death
hiding behind eyes
no longer differentiating
between mystery and reality
yet ears that can still hear
soft singing voices
Amazing Grace

   We were not always old as now
   Once blossoms lined our limbs

“Mortals remember, looking on the thing
I am, that I, even I, was once a spring.” ~ C.S. Lewis

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Book I Am

  1. but still able to be ‘surprised by joy’, and a book worth reading

    Like

  2. mortality is our realest aspect

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

