I Walk Now in Slow Steps

Carsten Wieland brushparkwatercolors.wordpress.com

Carsten Wieland brushparkwatercolors.wordpress.com

I walk now
in the slow steps
of an old man going lame
and the circle of my passing
is tightening like a noose
around my neck
Its end free

I move now
among the trees
their leaves are my path
lying open in every direction
inviting me everywhere
leading nowhere
ever so slow

I know now
what grief lingers
at the end of everything
Empty nests in forks of trees
blue shells where blown
by summer winds
love’s legacy

“A changing song,
a changing walk,
a changing thought.

A sounding stone,
a stepping stone,
a word
that is a sounding and a stepping
stone.” ~ Wendell Berry

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Walk Now in Slow Steps

  1. So graceful, and I love how there is no period to end the poem.

    Like

  2. ‘blue shells where blown by summer winds’ – love this. But isn’t it wonderful how that slow walk after the fast pace of youth allows you to see those small wonderful things around you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

