On Wishing

Annette Kuno  en.artoffer.com

      Annette Kuno       en.artoffer.com

At any time in any place
at least half of us are wishing
we were someone something else
our path to where we’re going
too steep too hard too long

The stress of being rich
is such a heavy yoke on neck
enough to bend a strongman’s back
make a banker a hunch`back
dreaming he’s a goldfinch

The angst of being poor
sore blisters on sole`less feet
the hand to mouth drudgery of days
pan`handler down the street
dreaming he’s an alligator

Would I choose to be you
if I knew the burdens you bear
Is any sorrow like unto my sorrow
any joy like unto the joy I wear
I’ll be me Let you be you

“Come closer. Look me in the eye.
Tell me what kind of animal you want to be today . . .” ~ Billy Collins

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Wishing

  1. self-contentment is the grandest prize

    Like

  2. We posted on very similar topics today! We must be tapping into similar places in the collective consciousness. :) To answer Billy’s question, I would be a squirrel today, busy and alert. Delightful poem, Peter.

    Like

  3. there is great gain in Godliness with contentment. We brought nothing into this world and it is sure that we will take nothing out. But I still struggle with all the suffering in this world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

