On Balance

Shelli Walters etsy.com

Shelli Walters     etsy.com

The front wheel
of my bicycle wobbles
the result no doubt of the road
as I’m prone to wander
off the pavement

So too my soul
will get out of balance
when navigating the high seas
of today’s culture wars
I begin to wobble

An unmistakable
sign the heart mind body
are beginning to disintegrate
All truth becomes relative
All lies turn gray

Any good bike shop
can re`tune your spokes
even unbend your bent wheel
But wherever does one go
to rebalance his soul?

“Strength of feeling, reverence for mystery, and clarity of intellect must be kept
in balance with one another. Neither the passive nor the active must dominate,
they must work in conjunction, as in a marriage.” ~ Denise Levertov

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On Balance

  1. marriage is about all I seem able to balance these days

    Liked by 1 person

  2. falling off can be fun sometimes…

    Like

  3. John says:

    Rebalancing crutches this a.m. makes me realize all I take for granted. Harder than bucking bales onto the flatbed, is getting off the stack when you’re done. Be fine in a few days.

    Like

    • Sorry to hear about the tumble: been there and it doesn’t feel good, especially on an old back like mine. Still buy a bale of straw now and again for the ‘girls’ and the garden, but when I move them I as my wife to do that! [Ha!]! Speedy recovery! Like your poem a lot!

      Like

Leave a Reply

