On Wasting Time

Daryl Herbison pinterest.com

Daryl Herbison        pinterest.com

It is the art of age
this wasting of time
these hours in the kitchen
boiling garden potatoes carrots
green beans dicing the sweet onion
this peeling of hard boiled eggs
whipping up a tart dressing
for but a fleeting taste
of his mama’s salad

Who but an old bube
would take the trouble
waste a morning on a lunch
he will down in fifteen minutes
simply for a taste of his childhood
a memory like the autumn leaf
about to tumble from a tree
brilliant in the moment
spent forever gone

“Leaves, please demonstrate how to waste time carefully.
Let me go as you do, down, naked to the wind and rain.” ~ David Guterson

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Wasting Time

  1. doesn’t sound like wasting time to me…

    Like

  2. time well spent, I’d say – in the kitchen – and in the writing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. John says:

    It is the art of age. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rivrvlogr says:

    I spent forever trying to find a recipe similar to my mother’s apple cake (one of my favorites), to no avail. Finally, I decided to try a couple of recipes I found, ending up with something between the two that I am very satisfied with, but it’s much different than what I was looking for. Then I decided to try my sisters one more time, and one of them had found the recipe in the meantime. It wasn’t what I remembered. Memories have a way of doing that to us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

