On Shadows

Kathy Jones  taraleaver.com

Kathy Jones      taraleaver.com

We have become
shadows of ourselves
in the sunset of our years
The echoes of voices singing
bounced off canyon walls
In each reverberation
a little less in tune

a little less in time
The poetry of youth
hammered out so carefully
each like a love letter to God
collapsed now cedar fence`
slats left unfinished
in summers’ suns

in winters’ rains
The millions words
fall now salt from a shaker
pepper from a life’s grinder
simply piles of seasonings
wind tide scattered
shadows of time

“I ate of the shadow, the shadow
Ate of me. The scouring bees of blindness
Merge with the wood of self
Until even my face in water
Is past memory.” ~ Stephen Kuusisto

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to On Shadows

  1. from one shadow to another: sad but true

    Like

  2. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Peter this is exquisite. I love melancholy poetry most of all as you say, grief’s work is among the most creative challenges, so agree with that. Beautiful work Peter, such a richness added to my day as it always is when I read you my friend

    Like

    • Thank you, Candice, for the generous comments. I learned long ago that we must learn to make friends of our shadows or else they will rise up and scare us to death. Blessings . . .

      Liked by 1 person

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        Peter, I wish more writers would acknowledge this and write about it. I have long agreed with this perspective and yet, there is this cult of superficial in our society hastening writers to avoid anything too deep or painful in favor of the eternal positivism that at times seems whitewashing reality and very much a chanted mantra that if you do not obey, you will be shunned and called negative. Yet surely negative is not the same as acknowledging melancholy, suffering, pain, etc. I would think a person who claims to be meditative and harmonious with the world would be in equal measure sad and joyous of the world. Yet when someone writes something that could be called sad, they are usually almost called out for it. I have long loved your writing I know now one of the reasons is your willingness to expose and explore truths.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I guess that’s why I keep putting red highlights in my hair :)

    Like

  4. Sadia Khan says:

    This is brilliant.

    Like

  5. JJAzar says:

    This is incredible poetry. “We have become shadows of ourselves in the sunset of our years” has to be my favorite image here. As a new WordPress blogger exploring what fellow writers are up to, this blog takes the cake in terms of serious poetry. Bravo! I’ve just subscribed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

