Late Summer Leaves

Alexandria Levin alexalev.com

Alexandria Levin
alexalev.com

I hear them quarreling
up there high in the trees
Scrambling procrastinators
packing up the summer house
locking tight all the shutters
against the autumn winds
You shut off the water
      while
I turn off the breakers
So it goes high in the trees
the rustling chatter of leaves
who have received their notice
from the earlier setting sun
that life here is about done
Time to put on amber
      since
thru nature’s intercom
their flights are being called
Some will take the commuter
while others await the red`eye
but soon enough they will all
be gone Their gray walls left
for passing song`birds
      whose
notes sound amplified
in the open space between
limb and branch where now
gray`squirrels race to and fro
stashing away their acorns
in the hollows of the past
Winter is hard on leaves

“By summer’s end there are
No more perfect leaves.” ~ Wendell Berry

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Late Summer Leaves

  1. rivrvlogr says:

    Very well done.
    It won’t be long, and I can see it, already.

    Like

  2. Morgan says:

    Interesting converse for leaves :) Great Perspective, and I for one cannot wait! I do love Autumn most of all the seasons ;)

    Like

  3. The squirrels around here don’t go far. They feast all winter on the sunflower seeds I put out front. I imagine that your squirrels would be grateful that you’ve shared their story in such a lovely way.

    Like

  4. It’s not just hard on leaves – I’m longing for the warmth to return. And my muse has gone on holiday… But I see that yours is in fine form.

    Like

Leave a Reply

