Indelible Ink

Adolfo Farsari en.wikipedia.org

Adolfo Farsari   en.wikipedia.org

Getting older
we are growing
more comfortable
within our own skin
Where once we tried
to hide our heritage
as refugees born
of the chaos of
some conflict

we now dance
un`melted in the
melting`pot where
we’d wanted to meld
longed to be the other
but never found a fit
searched for home
among the tribes
of the homeless

Bare now I bear
the mark of Cain
upon this old body
birth`mark of a tribe
both famous infamous
image of glory shame
of all my forebears
I can never escape
from who I am

“We are all tattooed in our cradles with the beliefs of our tribe;
the record may seem superficial, but it is indelible.” ~ Oliver Wendell Holmes

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Indelible Ink

  1. rivrvlogr says:

    Our past, recorded in indelible ink
    details forgotten
    reminded by those who have
    seen those pages

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thefeatheredsleep says:

    The quote is perfect with the idea of the poem – and though I heard this when I was younger, that as we age we grow more comfortable, I really could not fathom how this could be. Still, I am not sure why, other than it is the knowledge we just are, rather than perhaps, trying to be more or less than who we are. Owning oneself then. As I reach middle-age, (I presume 40 is middle age) I notice a settling inside, that is very welcome because previously I felt the air was thin with expectation. Some would say, this is not good, this is like giving up, not trying as hard, not inventing oneself again and again, but what if you really do not wish to do this, and wish instead for some peace of mind and stability of self? It doesn’t mean you have no dreams, nor fantasies, but rather, that you have made an agreement within yourself not to torment those things you cannot really change or understand. Sure, it doesn’t work on Monday’s but Monday’s are quite brutal for us who life in the ether.

    Liked by 1 person

    • With the years we begin trying to ‘scrub off’ the tattoos because all that does is irritate the skin . . . The secret is in a very simple mantra: ‘What is IS; What is not is NOT; God IS, and God is GOOD’ . . . Blessings . . .

      Liked by 1 person

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        Very nice saying … idea of scrubbing off tattoos that’s so true, idea of something permeating us for years, then as we transform, grow, we learn and dissolve those old hosts that keep us in line. Freedom is seeing the other side. Blessing to you my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

