Rainbow of Prodigality

Cartsten Wieland brushparkwatercolors.wordpress.com

Cartsten Wieland       brushparkwatercolors.wordpress.com

My words
like fallen petals
of a summer garden
litter the tableau of my life
words unspoken out
of sheer neglect
of your love

The remnants
of the many things
I felt the need to say
tho you’d no need to hear
You wanted my voice
at night I gave you
but my words

See here lies
the poor rainbow
of all my prodigality
fading in the failing light
If I could I’d sing you
a song of even all
I have wasted

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rainbow of Prodigality

  1. Peter, beautiful poem, but if I would have known I would have taken a nicer picture of my Palette. :-)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Carsten, the left`overs on the palettes of our lives never pose for us, and pictures of what we do not intend to keep will always appear a bit awkward . . . I love that picture and if you’d send along images of what’s left over when you finish your work I’ll always appreciate them . . . May your week be full of blessings . . .

      Liked by 1 person

  2. your poetry says all – in each line, and between them – you can be content

    Like

Leave a Reply

