Doing Peace

Carsten Wieland brushparkwatercolors.wordpress.com

Carsten Wieland brushparkwatercolors.wordpress.com

She prays for Peace
in her morning prayers
Quiet from her brawling brothers
gathered at her Sunday supper table
Harmony with her sullen husband
brawling within himself
inside his own brain

‘Why must we be so …’
she always seems to begin
and with that pulls off the old scab
causing domestic tranquility to bleed
the sweet cream on the pie to sour
bitterness to be the aperitif
to Sabbath communion

Not bombs but words
stoke the fires of conflict
and such innocent words they seem
to us who speak them intending grace
while scrubbing salt into the wound
which begs for a poultice
borne of pure patience


“O surely, reaving Peace, my Lord should leave in lieu
Some Good! And so he does leave Patience exquisite,
That plumes to Peace hereafter. And when Peace here does house
He comes with work to do, he does not come to coo,
He comes to brood and sit.” ~ Gerard Manley Hopkins

The artwork & poetry in this post is a work of collaboration
between two WordPress bloggers both committed to peace . . .

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Doing Peace

  1. rivrvlogr says:

    Unfortunately, taken to its limits, patience may lead to pain.

    btw… Thank you for leading me to an amazing artist.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. a vignette I have inhabited many times

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good for her for praying for peace. I have found that when I do meditate and start my day with a mantra to only speak what is true, kind, necessary and promotes peace then the others I am around just seem more peaceful. This is a scary, contentious time for us Americans. I think you nailed it, Peter. It is the words that can make a change. Thank you.

    Like

  4. It’s a marvelous poem that beautifully describes a likely all-too-common experience, Peter. I’m reminded of reactions from so many people I’ve tried to help who just weren’t ready to receive anything from me but a listening ear. I’m still learning, but I feel like I’ve made progress on that front. The scab and the salt, the poultice and the patience: just wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

