Cocktail`Party

rothko-59

Mark Rothko punditfromanotherplanet.com

We gather
in little circles
each with its own
alpha holding forth
on a passion of the day
sipping on cocktails
pondering a way
to slip outside
watch stars

She’s saying
the high school
really must build
separate rest`rooms
for trans`gendered kids
though she has never
known one heard
one complain
It’s justice!

He’s saying
how government
needs The Donald
to fire the bureaucrats
sucking at the public tits
the mention of which
generates a silence
in other alphas
Blasphemy!

Meanwhile
the stars shift
slightly in the sky
Unseen the meteor
skips across the night
a flat stone thrown
by some old poet
to a new moon
Epiphany!

“Without language there is no poetry, without poetry there’s just talk.
Talk is cheap and proves nothing. Poetry is dear and difficult to come by.
But it poles us across the river and puts music in our ears.”
~ Charles Wright

 

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in free verse, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cocktail`Party

  1. I’ve found that stepping out my front door and through someone else’s generally leaves me feeling like I’ve taken a trip and have found myself not quite where I expected to go.

    Like

    • An interesting comment: I take it like this – Moving about in this society I usually feel as though I have my shoes on the wrong feet . . .

      Like

      • I don’t think that’s quite it. It’s more like this: my husband and I have six kids. We homeschool. We’ve never been to Disneyland and have no desire to do so. We believe that a fulfilling life can be had without a college degree. Further, we’ve never bought a new car, visit restaurants only if absolutely necessary, seldom sign our kids up for lessons of any sort, worship at church rather than the local school. I guess it’s more that I don’t wear any shoes, and if I step into someone’s house (where they ask all visitors to remove their shoes so expensive carpets don’t get messed up), they resent the fact that I’ve found freedom from shoes in the first place, and they certainly don’t want to hear about any of that.

        Like

      • I think I now get your drift . . . We do live as strangers in a strange land . . .
        It takes enormous courage and confidence to live in the world but not be of it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

