Creating Worlds

Joan Mitchell methodtwomadness.wordpress.com

Joan Mitchell
methodtwomadness.wordpress.com

Take me somewhere
with your words spun
like spiders’ webs over`
night in places I might pass
Catch me if you can by
surprise with images
woven in your heart

Tell me of something
makes your heart stop
for sheer breathlessness
a passion to shiver my bones
for its beauty or its fright
that I might feel loved
that I too might fear

Tell me of something
makes your heart race
out of sheer anticipation
the arrival of a train bearing
a sweet`heart from a war
alive perhaps or dead
Mine would race too

Take me somewhere
for words have power
to move me beyond self
to feel more than what I feel
in my small windowless
world of my nowhere
gasping for a breath

“You should write because you love the shape of stories
and sentences and the creation of different worlds on a page.” ~ Annie Proulx

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Creating Worlds

  1. such satisfaction in discovery of creature as creator

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love the structure of this poem. It feels right to me.

    Like

  3. I love this one, Peter! You’ve captured the power of story with your vivid images. I hate walking through spider’s webs, but spin me some words (like these) and I’ll willingly get wrapped up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

