When I Close My Eyes

Piet Mondriaan www.canadianabstractart.ca

Piet Mondrian     canadianabstractart.ca

When I close my eyes
I see the world as it was
See you as you were then
when before distances took
the edges you overflowed
with the bounty of living
the dry thirst of loving

We were children then
wild deer in the meadow
feasting upon the windfall
from an untamed apple tree
fruit bittersweet on tongue
lying on beds of grasses
never knowing a scythe

When I open my eyes
all that remains is straw
the grains winnow`spent
the juices all squeezed out
bedding for the foundling
the tired man wandering
from here some`where

“But sometimes the curtain of his eyelids part,
the pupils of his eyes dilate as images
of past encounters enter while through his limbs
a tension strains in silence,
only to cease to be, to die within his heart.” ~ Rainer Maria Rilke, The Panther

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When I Close My Eyes

  1. wistful – (I think Rilke may be my favorite poet)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

