Blue`Jays

D. Helen Mackie  willockandsaxgallery.com

D. Helen Mackie
willockandsaxgallery.com

Is there anything quite as free
as two blue`jays in an alder tree

Waiting for the faithful Seeder
to fill again their empty feeder

Watching from a kitchen window
listening to their blue`jay lingo

What the one says to the other
sure can’t be words of a lover

Just imagine what a wife would say
if her husband spoke to her that way

Wife: What’s the matter with you!
Husband: What’s the matter with you!

Back and forth the imitation goes
where it will end God only knows

Guess it’s time to intervene
Blue`jays can get awful mean

“When people are free to do as they please,
they usually imitate each other.” ~ Eric Hoffer

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blue`Jays

  1. the blue jay is a “Feisty Old Bastard” according to my poem of the same name

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gretl Feeson says:

    Reblogged this on Letters & notes and commented:
    I’m really liking this poem from notehelfer blog and such fluidity as well.

    I can actually picture myself doing the dishes by my own kitchen window looking out at my garden and this playing out then letting out a small sigh/laugh or something before the final two lines and going to intervene.

    Cool quote as well

    Like

  3. Anita Lubesh says:

    My husband is called BlueJay (Jay) but that’s where the commonality ends. Thankfully lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

