A Younger Man

 Beate Frieling  etsy.com

Beate Frieling etsy.com

A younger man
mentioned Sunday
he thought he’d seen me
while shopping at the market
But I was well down the aisle
wearing my baseball cap
my hair was too long
my face bearded

‘I would have said
something otherwise
there among the soups!
Then you were suddenly gone
leaving me torn as to whether
it was or it was not you!’
And I had to confess
It might have been!

I wondered what
we might have said
had we in fact spoken
You’d have asked of the garden
and I about your family holiday
Then we’d have gone
You on to the bakery
I to the pharmacy

“I mistook your white head for a flower
down there among the tall grasses
and flowers of the garden border.
And then I knew you, your years
upon you like a crown of glory.” ~ Wendell Berry

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Younger Man

  1. wit that description, he could have seen me

    Like

  2. I love the mindful simplicity of this poem and the overlapping of what was and what might have been.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

