A Poet’s Distraction

 Joan Miró masterworksfineart.com

Joan Miró masterworksfineart.com

With the dawn
the fading quarter`moon
struggles to find the horizon
trailed as she is by the sun
upon her back

Her pale bowl
has emptied the last drop
of darkness into today’s sea
as she tumbles west`ward
in search of more

And yet the sea
which swallows the dark
is not satisfied with the gift
paling in sunlight to blue
to green to aqua

as if she’d swallow
daylight as well as night
drive time to the seashore
to pound both into froth
on pebbled strands

“There is some wonderful seriousness to the business of living,
and one is not exempted by being a poet.
~ John Cheever

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Poet’s Distraction

  1. love this. You may have noticed my poetry has taken a dive lately – too busy trying to market my book. Hopefully I’ll have more time soon…

    Like

  2. I love it, too, Peter: the whole shebang. Her bowl pouring darkness into the sea creates a beautiful image in my mind and reminds me of another book your grandchildren might like. It’s called “Grandfather Twilight” and is written/illustrated by Barbara Helen Berger.

    Like

Leave a Reply

