The Weight of a Soul

Andrew Musgrave andrewmusgrave.com.au

Andrew Musgrave andrewmusgrave.com.au

What I wonder
is the weight of a soul
The you living within you
with whom you wrestle at night
when at a fork in the road
you lie there paralyzed
with uncertainty

Your mind says
do the practical thing
Add up all the advantages
then subtract the disadvantages
If you will emerge ahead
that’s the path for you
so says your mind

Your soul asks
What’s the right thing
What will benefit others
harness your gifts to their good
build up the community
not for self but for all
so asks your soul

The soul weighs
as much as the mind
though they speak languages
different as Cantonese & Czech
foreigners in one single body
mediated by the Wind
or so I would say

“I asked of every heart
If it held
Something more ~
Something almost weightless
Like those nearly invisible fish in Lapland
That you’d swear
Are about to grow feathers
And fly.

Of course I spoke the heart’s language
Like a foreigner . . .” ~ Stephen Kuusisto

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Weight of a Soul

  1. some souls are heavily burdened

    Like

  2. such insight Peter – and I’ve been doing a bit of that lately. Choices aren’t always clear…

    Like

    • Thank you, Maureen . . . I often think these days about the blessing it is to still be able to make decisions for the time is coming when as Jesus said to St Peter at breakfast the week after the first Easter, ‘the days are coming when they will take you where you do not want to go . . .’ The best we can do is each day, choose love . . .

      Like

  3. cheryl622014 says:

    …and such a beautiful picture that gave me breathing space..thank you

    Like

  4. The whole think is very nice, Peter, but I especially like these lines: “The soul weighs / as much as the mind / though they speak languages / different as Cantonese & Czech.” Your title reminds me of “The Weight of a Mass” by Josephine Nobisso. Ever heard of it? It’s a lovely children’s book, a tale based on a miracle of long ago.

    Like

    • No, I’ve not heard of or read the Nobisso book tho I am always on the look`out for really good children’s books to find for my grandchildren . . . And I’m glad you enjoyed the poem, Cheryl . . . It’s nice to know your name! Blessings . . .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

