Quandry

Roger Kemp ngv.vic.gov.au

Roger Kemp    ngv.vic.gov.au

Sitting
on a bench
at the terminal
my ticket in hand
and in another
your letter
Don’t go!

To stay
will mean
more known
To go is going
un`knowing
to the past
forgotten

I’m old
now older
than to know
how to change
or to change
any other
lover

The bus
is leaving
Go or Stay
the question
Your letter
My ticket
in hand

“So far nothing in your life has interfered
with your reasoning process.”
~ Harper Lee

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quandry

  1. It can be tough to take responsibility and make a decision, especially when it involves leaving someone you love. While I like the curt style of this, because it fits with a back-and-forth-trying-to-decide style, I want to know more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

