Ribbit Ribbit

Stippling by Eileen AriadneArt.com

Stippling by Eileen     AriadneArt.com

A tiny green tree`frog
has taken up residence
in the flower`box outside
the bedroom windows
we keep open in June

He chirps so tirelessly
I decided to adopt him
I’ve christened him Fred
confident he is a prince
of Habsburg gentility

I talk to Fred at night
ask of life down under
his dark geranium leaf
Fred says ribbit ribbit
which is Froggish for

OK, I guess! lacking
the fervor of the frogs
down on the lily`pond
below us on the ridge
busy at their mating

Listen up, Fred! I say
Germans aren’t French
Those toads down there
will ribbit with anyone
who still has a croak!

At which he replied
ribbit ribbit ribbit rib
And I knew right there
that my Fred was cut
from different cloth

“The idea of the extraordinary happening in the context
of the ordinary is what’s 
kind of fascinating to me.” ~ Chris Van Allsburg

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ribbit Ribbit

  1. den169 says:

    Not a word wasted. So well crafted!

    Like

  2. Love it – we used to have Australian whistling tree frogs all through our back garden on the West Coast of New Zealand. They were so cute…

    Like

    • I have found they’re so totally unafraid of you; they’ll let you hold them in the palm of your hand and just look up as though they want to have a chat! Thanks, Maureen . . .
      [By the way: I did not ‘borrow’ your Fred but have my own in an older brother whose name is ‘Friedrich Georg’ – a real live Habsburg prince of a guy . . .] Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a whimsical poem, Peter! I like it. I’m rusty on my ribbits, but I can tell from what you’ve related that he’s a smart guy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

