Your Words

Abe Toshiyuki "Minamo" pinterest.com

Abe Toshiyuki “Minamo”     pinterest.com

Your words
fall like pebbles
into my still pond
I may not know you
yet for an instant
I see the world
in new light

You give me
a glimpse of life
within the garden
I feared was a jungle
You tuck my hand
into yours Say
Do not fear!

You seat me
at your table as
an honored guest
break bread with me
pour wine for me
offer me grace I
cannot afford

Your words
fall like pebbles
into my still pond
I may not know you
yet in this moment
I am shaped by
your words

“Readers are plentiful; thinkers are rare.” ~ Harriet Martineau

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Your Words

  1. rivrvlogr says:

    Thank you, Peter. I am as glad to have you as a ripple in my pond as I am to be one in yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, Peter, this is simply beautiful. Paul Klee wrote, “Art does not reproduce the visible; rather, it makes visible.” In other words, art is sacramental, and “Your Words” is a wonderful example of that. You’ve made visible the reason I NEED books in my life.

    A little before 2 am, I finished reading “About Grace” by Anthony Doerr. It is a beautiful book that is much more than the sum of its parts. In so many ways, Doerr, through his words, gave me “a glimpse of life / within the garden / I feared was a jungle.”

    You’ve read some of the poetry that I write not often enough, but I invite to share my world of reading, too, at http://www.theruffdraft.com/

    Linger if you like, or just peek in at the window. Godspeed.

    Like

  3. I am always inspired when I hear “communion of saints” in church, because it doesn’t just mean the ones in heaven interceding to God on our behalf, but it invites us lowly ones on earth into an eternal dialog and love shared that transcends delineations of past and present, heaven and earth. Beautiful poem.

    Like

    • Thank you, Isosceles, for the thoughtful response . . . We are not called to know the gospel, we are called especially to live it in the world with each other. Let our lives be ‘sacramental’, God’s hospitality for all without measure . . . Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your poems are great, Peter. This one is really touching me – so beautiful! Thanks so much.

    Like

    • Thank you, Carsten, for the gracious words of affirmation. The older I get the more I realize how powerfully we are shaped by other people’s gifts. Writing/reading poetry, like your brushwork, is an opportunity to welcome others with a hospitality usually not found in western culture . . . Vielen Herzlichen Dank, Mein Freund!

      Like

Leave a Reply

