On Feeling Free

Jim Bray   fineartamerica.com

Jim Bray    fineartamerica.com

After so many years
of being tied up to duty
disability opened the door
to a life without responsibility
At last they said I was free
to do quite as I pleased
So at least they said
      But
anyone who loves
more than self is bound
by love to more than duty
tied like Gulliver by Lilliputians
thread by delicate thread
in the bondages of grace
So at least I’d say
      Since
the totally free`life
unencumbered by love
is but sage`brush in the wind
a lonely life of one`night`stands
beside two`timing`partners
an ocean row`boat`ride
with but a single oar

“There’s an invisible line in the middle of the bridge,
in the fog, where I’m released, where I think I’m free.” ~ Gail Mazur

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On Feeling Free

  1. den169 says:

    A beautiful snapshot of truth!

    Like

  2. ‘Freedom’s just another word for nothing left to lose…’ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQQPgECUORs

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just knew someone would come back with that line: frankly I’m glad it was you, Maureen! Luther said ‘The Christian is the most free lord of all, subject to none; the Christian is the most dutiful servant of all, subject to all.’ Now there’s a thought for a Sabbath!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. amen, I say, amen

    Like

  4. rivrvlogr says:

    The benefit to heart and soul to “the encumbered” can not be measured.

    Like

Leave a Reply

