When I’m Gone

Vincent van Gogh wikiart.org

Vincent van Gogh    wikiart.org

When I’m gone
plant a tree for me
Any tree will actually do
but if you take to the idea
I’d appreciate a fruit tree
say apricot or plum
both good jams

Dig me a hole
wide enough for
feet planning to hang
around for a long while
older tree sweeter fruit
deep enough for
a thirsty soul

“[T]he magic dust our bodies become
casts spells on the roots
about which a dumber man than me
could tell you the chemical processes,
but it’s just magic to me . . .” ~ Ross Gay, Burial

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When I’m Gone

  1. Morgan says:

    :) to be remembered in the Bright Emeraldine Shade of a Living Memorial would be Bliss :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • You must read Ross Gay’s poem written about his father’s death called ‘Burial’: it will trigger more creativity in your mind than a whole bowl of M&Ms . . . You can find a wright-up on him in yesterday’s NPR home page: something about poetry and gardening . . . Let me know if you find it; otherwise I can email it to you . . .

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a lovely notion, and a lovely poem, Peter. In fact, your words inspired a (surprisingly long) response from me. I hope you don’t mind. While I love the image of a loved one smiling as he or she makes jam from the fruit of the tree planted in your honor, in the end, I’d make a different request. This is what I came up with: https://fragrancethatthevioletsheds.wordpress.com/2016/06/10/scatter-the-seed-and-go-on-with-your-life-i-mean-it/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. apricot it shall be – fig for me

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cheryl622014 says:

    I know it is not a tree but black currant. If it has to be a tree then John something Crab Apple – I’ll let everyone make the joke but it produces the most beautiful delicate tasteful jelly

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ebbtide says:

    Just lovely… my mom planted a cherry tree in memory of my brother when he passed, and I’ve loved the idea ever since. <3

    Like

Leave a Reply

