Eternity

Holly Stone fineartamerica.com

Holly Stone       fineartamerica.com

You think of it
I know you must
It crosses your mind
at least once every day
regardless of how hard you
try to push the thought away
or try to drown it in a glass
You don’t want to talk
about it No one does
but it’s always there
We think of it

We wonder if
when it’s our time
will it be ‘lights out’
or will it be that light
that Bright Light they say
greets the dying at the end
Will we go screaming and
kicking or go peacefully
gently into that night
the poets call good
I do wonder

Will they ask
me if I’m ready
I wonder Allow me
one last phone call And
do you think I’d call you
with the news of my going
Wouldn’t you think I was
entirely out of my mind
since we never talked
about anything but
living forever

“In my mind’s eye I always see
The closed door to eternity.
I think I’ll take it,
                              and then I start to think I won’t.
As though I had a choice in the matter.
As though the other side of it
                       was something inexorable, something fluxed.
As though the though would never exist.” ~ Charles Wright

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eternity

  1. rivrvlogr says:

    I’d appreciate the call, but I’m sure you’ll be busy with other things.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

