Extraordinary

Suren Nersisyan   pinterest.com

Suren Nersisyan     pinterest.com

Last year’s columbine
was all leaf & no flower
frankly a huge disappointment
given its month`long germination
and its refusal to put on blossom
were it not for that leaf
of such a soft green

it would have gone
directly to the compost
but it wintered`over in a clay pot
and with the warmth of the Spring
returned blessings for my neglect
blue & golden trumpets
of angelic delight

so delicately light
to put humming`birds
who come to sip liquor at its bell
floating magically on breathless air
to shame for sheer majestic grace
of all ordinary flowers
most extraordinary

“I do not strive to be different for the sake of being different, but do not mind
being different if my difference is the result of being myself.” ~ Louis Thomas Hardin

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Extraordinary

  1. your poetry leaves the reader with such a wonderful sense of peace – something I desperately need – thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a gracious thing to say! Thank you, Paul . . . Whenever I feel anxious I recall something M Luther once said: ‘Remember your baptism!’ It is God’s signature on your life, added to the painting long before it was ever finished . . . That’s grace . . .

      Liked by 3 people

  2. rivrvlogr says:

    They’re beautiful flowers. We have about a half-dozen scattered through our garden, courtesy of the previous owners, and all flowered. They’re red columbine, but I’ve never seen hummingbirds in the garden. Meanwhile, my neighbors hummingbird feeder brings them into view on the other side of my house.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cheryl622014 says:

    And such a beautiful painting too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

