O My Children

Michel Keck michelkeck.com

Michel Keck     michelkeck.com

Here and there
the sky is falling
plastic space junk
drops of acid`rain
jettisoned jet`fuel
of a zillion planes
bound for Eden
lost now at sea

Now and then
the sea spits up
its in`digestibles
on Balboa`Beach
the bent syringes
blown`condoms
trappings of our
guilty pleasures

O My Children
I gave you Eden
a Garden to tend
for our good`glory
you have managed
to despoil its grace
by greedy neglect  
Behold your hell!

“The troubles of our proud and angry dust
   Are from eternity, and shall not fail.
Bear them we can, and if we can we must.
   Shoulder the sky, my lad, and drink your
      ale.” ~ A.E. Housman

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O My Children

  1. a fine ecological lament

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

