From the Bench

Gabriele Evertz & Gilbert Hsiao minusspace.com

Gabriele Evertz & Gilbert Hsiao minusspace.com

From the bench
I watch the passing
people watching people
gliding along their streets
feet unmoved in their moving
faces of couples melding
rising at their coming
falling again going
in Doppler effect

From the bench
I listen to the voices
they too rising & falling
in words without any context
tiny fragments of conversation
patched together in my mind
thread`basted as it were
or perhaps layered
for an Ives effect

From the bench
I am struggling with
a modern American poet
who sounds as tho she too is
sitting on some near`by bench
listening to America passing
basting sounds together
piling layer on layer
to Sardonic effect

“I believe there is a song that is stranger than wind, that sips the scald
from the telling, toss toss. In the room I move in, a wrecked boy listened
to each sky’s erasing for it was shrill winter, for it was blast and blur.”
                                                                                        ~ Karen Volkman

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From the Bench

  1. phenomena as observed by judge judy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. and the world moves on…

    Like

Leave a Reply

