A Boy Again

Connie Chadwell dailypainters.com

Connie Chadwell       dailypainters.com

I am a boy again
It’s off`season for horses
I’m pestering the stable manager
trying to talk him into letting me
take one of the old mares
out for a slow ride

It is late springtime
The woods still filling in
with the darker greens of summer
a few hold`out blossoms lingering
The stream running clear
with the snow`melt

The horseman yields
hands me the bit & bridle
and says Take her with the saddle!
saddle being markings on her back
I ride her bare`back as we
walk thru cold water

under wild hazelnuts
maples with tender leaves
fiddle`head ferns of uncoiling velvet
I was a young kid without a red`cent
yet unconscious of poverty
richer than any prince

“If I nip the ear of this poem,
      It is only to excite meaning
            From something sensual,
                  Not linguistic.” ~ Gary Lemons

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Boy Again

  1. mine was an urban boyhood, but the last 3 lines could have sprung from my pen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

