On Listening

Sue Coleman  aboutcanada.ca

Sue Coleman   aboutcanada.ca

I would be blind
in the visual world
so as to heed to life
in its subtle nuances
sounds I do not hear
since I am too busy
watching to see if
your eye’s on me

I would listen
to the birdsong
from the feeders
until I knew each
by its own sound
as they know me
in my blindness
silence my gift

I would listen
in the darkness
for a snowy`owl
whose whoosh is
its true signature
who seeing it all
remains unseen
and tells none

“There’s the clip clop of horses on the sunhoneyed cobbles
of the humming streets, 
hammering of horse-shoes,
a gobble quack and cackle, tomtit twitter 
from the bird-ounced boughs,
braying on the Donkey Dawn.”
~ Dylan Thomas

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Listening

  1. “The Sounds of Silence” now plays in my head – and I thank you for that

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Susanne says:

    Did you shape your poem to look like a wing deliberately?

    Like

    • Thanks for the question: I almost always use that form in my poems and didn’t see the connection between my form and your ‘wings’ until you mentioned it. Interesting how the eyes tell what the mind often does not see . . .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

