The Gift of Old Age

Joán Miró legacy.earlham.edu

Joán Miró
legacy.earlham.edu

It is the gift
old age affords
to travel the world
sitting in an easy chair
I simply close my eyes
I’m instantly there
where it’d cost
a mint to go

This morning
I will get a coffee
and two croissants
find an empty bench
near the Eiffel Tower
watch the energetic
tourists climbing
up like ants

The afternoon
I will lunch atop
the regal Zugspitze
sipping a smoky dunkel
from a Munich Hofbrau
watch spring skiers
make their way
down icy runs

In the evening
I will contemplate
a fiery Firenze sunset
from Piazza Michelangelo
with its majestic vantages

over pizza`provinciales
and fine Sangiovese
then fall asleep

“Love has earth to which she clings
With hills and circling arms about ~
Wall within wall to shut fear out.
But Thought has need of no such things,
For Thought has a pair of dauntless wings.” ~ Robert Frost

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gift of Old Age

  1. I’d be happy to accompany you

    Like

Leave a Reply

