On An April Evening

 Jill Hosmer inland360.com

Jill Hosmer inland360.com

Come here!
Let me show you
the softness of the light
how warming air has turned
the horizon into rose garden
illuminated by sunlight
slipping to the sea
Come see!

The clouds
smouldering coals
in some well`banked fire
growing deeper as light fades
the sun glowing orange to red
in its falling ’til at the last
what remains is a
fiery eyelash

of the earth
falling into its sleep
It is the loveliest of hours
as the sea echoes the gloaming
with a mirror`image of the sky
gone softly still in homage
to the day’s ending
Come & see!

“I think the poem is a communication between a mouth and an ear 
. . . a mind that sends a message and the mind that receives it.” ~ Dana Gioia

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On An April Evening

  1. Susanne says:

    How I love this line: “…how warming air has turned/the horizon into rose garden…” I love it for the tiny battle it sets up with my senses. Do I smell the salt air or do I smell roses? Love the tension it creates but I enjoy the feeling of being in a beautiful rose garden layered with salt.

    Like

    • I owe you thanks for reminding me of the rarely used ‘gloaming’; have been thinking this poem every day since I read your poem. Are we not blessed to still perceive such beauty at our age? Thanks, Paul, for the comment . . . Blessings on your day of rest . . .

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wonderfully descriptive – reminding us all to look outside of ourselves

    Like

Leave a Reply

