Gliding Up`stream

Ari Hanto  arihanto.com

Ari Hanto arihanto.com

Gliding up`stream
against invisible currents
the boat flies A teal going home
so low its wing it touches
the mirror`d water

We fly wide open
up the deep inner channel
our wake the only disturbance
in an otherwise perfect sea
dividing the shores

As we power down
‘Did you see the turkeys
back along the bank?’ he said
‘No I missed them but I
heard their gobbles’

As I can hear them
now in the sheer silence
somewhere down the long river
the voices of old women
telling fishing tales

“I have no way of telling what I miss
I am only the one who misses it” ~ M.S.Merwin

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gliding Up`stream

  1. you make me hear them, too

    Like

  2. Morgan says:

    Just Marvelous Peter. made me smile (although it also made me feel like Autumn)

    Like

  3. rivrvlogr says:

    Twice, I’ve had turkeys fly across the river just ahead of me, as I paddled downstream – both times a delight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

