The Gift of Age

Mark Rothko markrothko.org

Mark Rothko markrothko.org

It is the gift of age
this feeling of contentment
to be at home with familiarity
everything in its proper place
everyone as close or as far
as they will ever be

The children settled
well in their own situations
past all temptations to return
when life serves up difficulties
adults now with adult skills
easy coming & going

The grand`children
still small enough to carry
not big enough yet to navigate
the living room furniture with`
out having a knee to hold
not old enough to run

It’s I who hold on now
especially if there are stairs
the ladder wearing DO NOT USE!
tempts now & then unsuccessfully
I can still get into my boat
hold a rod net the fish

“I haven’t had to want anything for some time.” ~ Virginia Hamilton

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gift of Age

  1. deuxiemepeau says:

    This is so lovely. Keep enjoying the fishing and avoiding the ladders :)

    Like

  2. you’ve been peeking in my windows

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

