On Encouragement

Erin Ashley simonbrushfield.com

Erin Ashley      simonbrushfield.com

Like bread & water to the body
encouragement is nourishment
for the spirit
Just as yesterday’s bread
cannot strengthen us for today’s task
so our spirits cannot spin their poetry
on the memory of last week’s praise
When my heart loses confidence
and I no longer believe
I have a song to sing
come & sing my song for me
Reflect for me
the bitter`sweet joy
my songs first awoke in you
Within your gentle embrace
I recognize once again
the inspiration and the gift
Without your singing it
how could I know my song was good
Without your embrace
how could I know that I was good too

“That we may be mutually encouraged
by each others faith, both yours and mine.” ~ St. Paul

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Encouragement

  1. the gift of partnership

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bwcarey says:

    great set of words, the cornerstone to a healthy future, blessings, i couldn’t have written it better myself, amen

    Like

  3. words need to be shared to become real…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

