On Gristle

Andrea Facundo Palacios polyvore.come

Andrea Facundo Palacios
polyvore.com

My children
are vegetarians
seed gathers each one
dandelion greens & kale
the sprouts of who knows what
mixed with salty soy`nuts
dressed up with tofu
creamy garbanzos
& avocado

My father
was a carnivore
he grew up on head`
cheese & blood`sausage
pickled pig’s feet & wild`boar
roasted to the finest crisp
potatoes to sop up
grease & gravy
over a bib

As for me
I’m a presbyterian
What’s in front of me
I have learned to appreciate
with the clearest of consciences
Der Weg über die Zunge ist kurz!
my Mama used to say
when I left gristle
on my plate

“The chickens ate all the crickets.
The foxes ate all the chickens.
I ate the fish.” ~ Mary Oliver

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Gristle

  1. I’m a pasta-terian, myself

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

