On Being Small

Paper Taxi  pinterest.com

Paper Taxi pinterest.com

It is in the small
the big comes to understand
the big sees but that he’s not
ever big enough
while the small
can see how tiny a thing he is
within his life’s larger context
Let me then be
but a dandelion
in the maiden’s braided crown
rather than a rose in the lapel
of a millionaire
Let me then be
a seed in some gardener’s hand
rather than a glossy tomato on
a catalog cover
Let me then be
the little boat that dares to sail
in the deep waters rather than
the yacht tied up
to a marina dock

“To know what flesh inherits,
learn the art of the little boat,
leave the solid footing,
row out upon the water.” ~ Wendell Berry

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Being Small

  1. alas, I have never been small – thank God for imagination

    Like

Leave a Reply

